Northern California Area Emmy Awards: 29 Awards for 29 Alumni

Wednesday, July 26, 2017
Photo of KDTV staff holding Emmy Awards on red carpet

Spanning election-night news, baseball play by play, San Francisco’s Chinese New Years Parade and more, SF State alumni cleaned up at the 46th Northern California Area Emmy Awards. Twenty-nine alumni combined to pick up 29 statuettes at the ceremony, held June 3 at the San Francisco Jazz Center.

Luis Godínez (B.A., Radio and Television, ’03), an executive producer with Univision affiliate KDTV-14, won five Emmy Awards, tied for the most among all winners this year. KDTV-14 photojournalist Joseph Perry (B.A., Radio and Television, ’03) won four awards.

The Northern California Area Emmy Awards, presented by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences chapter, recognize excellence in television and online production. The Northern California competition includes television and cable stations from the following areas: Sacramento-Stockton-Modesto, San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, Fresno-Visalia, Honolulu, Reno, Monterey-Salinas, Chico-Redding and Eureka.

Alumni winners

Newscast-Evening-Larger Markets, “Oakland Warehouse Fire,” KPIX-5

  • Ken Bastida (B.A., Radio and Television, ’81), field anchor
  • Carla Duke (B.A., Radio and Television, ’88), director

Newscast-Daytime-Larger Markets, “Countdown to Super Bowl 50,” KPIX-5

  • Carla Duke, technical director

Continuing Coverage-No Time Limit, “Water for Kettleman City,” KPIX-5

  • Brian Yuen (B.A., Radio and Television, ’88), photojournalist

Newscast-Daytime-Larger Markets-Spanish, “Noticiero Telemundo 48 Primera Edicion,” KSTS-48

  • Lorena Domínguez (B.A., Radio and Television, ’06), anchor
  • Robin Burns (B.A., Radio and Television, ’82), director/automated production control operator

Continuing Coverage-24 Hours-Spanish, “Trump vs. Clinton: Election Night,” KSTS-48

  • Lorena Domínguez, anchor

Evening Newscast-Larger Markets-Spanish, “Noticias Univision 14 Solo A Las Once,” KDTV-14

  • Flavio Lacayo (B.A., Radio and Television, ’98), reporter
  • Luis Godínez, executive producer

Feature News Report-Serious Series-Spanish, “En Espera de la Muerte,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer
  • Joseph Perry, editor

Sports-Feature/Segment-Spanish, “La Cancha de la Esperanza,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer
  • Joseph Perry, editor

Arts/Entertainment-Spanish, “El Pintor de las Patronas,” KDTV-14

  • Luis Godínez, producer

Interview-Discussion-Spanish, “Noche de Elecciones,” KDTV-14

  • Flavio Lacayo, reporter
  • Luis Godínez, producer

Feature News Report-Light Series-Spanish, “Antojitos de mi Tierra,” KDTV-14

  • Joseph Perry, editor

Photographer-News/Program-No Time Limit-Spanish, “Joe Perry Composite,” KDTV-14

  • Joseph Perry, photographer

Breaking News, “Deadly Ghost Ship Warehouse Fire,” KRON-4

  • Corinne Martinez (B.A., Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts, ’12), producer

Public/Current/Community Affairs-Program/Special, “KQED Newsroom: Stand Up San Quentin,” KQED-9

  • Heather Blosser (B.A., Radio and Television, ’92), studio director

Editor-Program, “Bozovic Composite,” KNTV-11

  • Alex Bozovic (B.A., Radio and Television, ’97), editor

Special Event Coverage, “2016 Chinese New Year Parade,” KTVU-2

  • Ben Fong-Torres (B.A., Radio-Television-Film, ’66), anchor
  • Steve Shlisky (M.A., Radio and Television, ’00), editor
  • Daniel Berger (B.A., Radio and Television, ’95), technical director
  • Jim Haman (B.A., Radio and Television, ’79), executive producer/producer

Sports-Daily or Weekly Program/Series, “Inside the Clubhouse: We Are Giant,” Comcast SportsNet Bay Area/SFG Productions

  • Paul Hodges III (B.A., Radio and Television, ’01), executive producer
  • Alyssa Royce (B.A., Radio and Television, ’13), producer/editor
  • Brad Martens (B.A., Radio and Television,’09), media manager/audio engineer

Sports Game-Live/Unedited (Program), “Blast from the Past,” Comcast SportsNet California

  • Glen Kuiper (B.A., Radio and Television, ’90), play-by-play announcer
  • Michael Rosenthal (B.A., Radio and Television, ’90), associate producer
  • D’Aulaire Louwerse (B.A., Radio and Television, ’97), producer

Sports-One-Time Special, “The Raiders Report: Charles Woodson,” Comcast SportsNet California/Oakland Raiders/Silver and Black Productions

  • Jessica Romero (B.A., Broadcast and Electronic Communication Arts, ’11), producer/editor

Sports-Feature/Segment, “Return to Greatness,” Oakland Raiders/Silver and Black Productions

  • Jessica Romero, producer

Historic/Cultural-Feature/Segment, “Black History is Golden: Narrated by Harrison Barnes,” Golden State Warriors

  • Paul Hodges III, executive producer

Commercial-Single Spot/Campaign-Spanish, “Mi Amor Dos,” San Francisco Giants

  • Matthew Piniol (B.A., Radio and Television, ’09), director of photography
  • Alyssa Royce, producer

Promotion-Single Spot-Spanish, “Estás en la Nación de los Raiders,” Oakland Raiders/Silver and Black Productions

  • Jessica Romero, senior producer

Promotion-Campaign, “Bay Area Revelations,” KNTV-11

  • John Keenan (B.A., Radio and Television, ’09), producer/writer

Health/Science/Environment-Feature/Segment, “Deep Look: The Snail-Smashing, Fish-Spearing, Eye-Popping Mantis Shrimp,” KQED-9

  • Beth Custer (M.M., ’85), original score

Health/Science/Environment-Program/Special, “The Mighty T — The Tuolumne River — From Glacier To Golden Gate,” KVIE 6/Barbary Coast Productions

  • Jim Schlosser (attended ’91 – ’95), producer/director/writer

Lifestyle-Feature/Segment-Spanish, “Shop and Dine in the 49: Diju Jewelry,” San Francisco Government Television

  • Jennifer Low (B.A., Radio and Television, ’98), producer/director/photographer

Informational/Instructional-Program/Special, “Every 15 Minutes: Connor’s Story,”

  • Christopher Allan Smith (B.A., Art, ’79), producer/director

Promotion-Single Spot, “Extra Butter Epic Promo,” KXTV-10

  • Mark S. Allen (B.A., Radio and Television, ’77), talent

— Matt Itelson


Photo: Emmy winners from KDTV-Channel 14, including alums Luis Godínez and Joseph Perry (both B.A., ’03), celebrate on the red carpet. Not pictured: Flavio Lacayo (B.A., ’98).

News Article